T3 site is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

HomeNewsStatesMaharashtra Tourism Launches Jain Pilgrimage Circuit

Maharashtra Tourism Launches Jain Pilgrimage Circuit

To develop 9 major Jain pilgrimage sites in the state and to lay out security measures to protect and render various facilities for tourists and pilgrims, the ‘Holy Jain Pilgrimage Circuit’ was inaugurated on 7th January 2023, at Raj Bhavan by State Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari.

Tourism Minister Mangalprabhat Lodha, Tourism Department Secretary Saurabh Vijay, MTDC Managing Director Shraddha Joshi, Mahamandaleshwar Visveswaranand Giriji, Mumuksharatna Setukbhai Anilbhai Shah, diamond merchant Sewantibhai Shah along with other members of the Jain community were present were also present during the occasion.

During the inauguration ceremony, Koshyari announced, “Considering the importance of spirituality, pilgrimage has become equally important along with tourism in the present times.  Therefore, the Department of Tourism should now be called the Department of Tourism and Pilgrimage.”

Speaking on the development, Lodha said, “Recently the tourism department launched a tour circuit based on the life of Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar, which showed the significant places related to him. Similarly, at Nanded, a special activity was conducted for Sikh community on the occasion of Veer Bal Divas. Now the ‘Holy Jain Pilgrimage Circuit’ program has been taken up. This includes 9 major Jain pilgrimage sites in the state and programs will be implemented to provide security, pilgrimage and development of facilities in these areas.”

Shri Mangi Tungiji Digambar Jain Siddha Kshetra Devotion at Satana (District Nashik), Mansamandir (Shahpur Jain Shrine) at Shahapur (District Thane), Sri Balsana Shwetambar Jain Shrine at Sakri (Dhule District), Sri Jagavallabh Parswanath Jain Shwetambar Temple at Bahubali (Dist. Tantric), Kumbhoj Bahubali Jain Temple at Bahubali (Kolhapur District), Sri Amizra Sankheshwar Parshwabhyudaya Tirtha at Vani (Td. Dindori, Distt. Nashik), Padma and Jain Shrine at Pabal (Shirur, Dist. Pune), Shri Godiji Parshwanath Shrine at Paydhuni (Mumbai),  Lord Parshvanatha at Shirpur (Malegaon, Distt. Washim) are the major sacred Jain Pilgrimage sites in ‘Holy Jain Pilgrimage Circuit’.






Upcoming Events



    Minor Hotels

    Four Seasons Hotel Bengaluru