T3 site is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Log in Register

Login to your account

Don't have an account yet? Register now!
Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *

Govt Identifies Rural Circuits Amongst 15 Thematic Circuits

The Ministry of Tourism has launched the Swadesh Darshan Scheme for integrated development of theme-based tourist circuits for development of tourism infrastructure including last mile connectivity in the country.

Recognizing the potential of Village tourism in the country, the Ministry has identified rural circuit as one of fifteen thematic circuits identified for development under this scheme.

The Ministry of Rural Development provides a list of leading sub districts to each State for selection of Non-Tribal clusters under SPMRM, within which the clusters could be identified. One of the parameters in the selection of these sub districts by the Ministry of Rural Development is presence of places of tourism and pilgrimage significance.

One of the rural development schemes being implemented is Shyama Prasad Mukherji Rurban Mission (SPMRM) under Ministry of Rural Development.

SPMRM is a program focused on integrated development of Rural clusters by stimulating local economic development, enhancing basic services, and creating well planned Rurban clusters. SPMRM follows the vision of “Development of a cluster of villages that preserve and nurture the essence of rural community life with focus on equity and inclusiveness without compromising with the facilities perceived to be essentially urban in nature, thus creating a cluster of “Rurban Villages”.

Under SPMRM, 300 clusters are developed across 28 States and6 Union Territories. Tourism is one of the themes of Rurban cluster development. Tourism related activities/ projects are among the 21 component categories under SPMRM and suitable works are undertaken in clusters with tourism potential. Under SPMRM, there are 105 clusters in 30 States/ UTs where tourism related activities have been proposed.

This information was given by Minister of State for Tourism & Culture Prahlad Singh Patel in a written reply in Rajya Sabha recently.


Login to post comments



Informa Markets Travel Portfolio

  • slider-logo4.png
  • slider-logo1.png
  • slider-logo2.png
  • slider-logo3.png

Social Followers

  1. Events
  2. Webinars

IPW Las Vegas

From: 18 Sep 2021 To: 22 Sep 2021
Webinar Archives
  1. Appointment